Русский
!

Conference publications

Abstracts

XXIX conference

Gliotransmitter regulation of synaptic activity in astrocytic calcium dynamics model

Lukin P.O., Prudkin M.N., Verisokin A.Yu.

Kursk State University, Department of Theoretical Physics, Radishcheva st., 33, 305000, Kursk, Russia

1 pp. (accepted)

Spontaneous and induced by synaptic activity spatio-temporal patterns of calcium dynamics in astrocytes can segregate the space of the nervous tissue into areas with various conditions maintained that increase or decrease the efficiency of synapses due to localized release of gliotransmitters. It is assumed that understanding the pathways of regulation of nervous tissue excitation by these mechanisms may be of key importance for controlling the activity of the central nervous system.

The study is based on the model of calcium dynamics in astrocytes [1], which takes into account the spatially detailed morphology of astrocyte cells, the topology of their networks, calcium dynamics in astrocytes, the connection of astrocytes with neuronal axons. Based on the available experimental data, we extended this model by including an equation describing the gliotransmitter dynamics, taking into account that it depends on the morphological peculiarities of the site of the cell (i.e., it differs in leaflets, thick or thin processes and soma) and the current calcium profile. In addition, the concentration of gliotransmitter was determined to have a direct impact on the probability of glutamate release.

A numerical study of the model on a two-dimensional astrocyte template showed that:

– the gliotransmitter, on the one hand, has an important effect directly on calcium activity in astrocytes, on the other hand, it is able to regulate synaptic activity;

– the number of calcium events in the astrocyte cell depends on the local values of the gliotransmitter concentration;

– synaptic activity can be regulated by external injection of gliotransmitters.

As a part of further research, it is planned to study the effect of a gliotransmitter on synaptic activity in a refined model, in which the location of synapses in the cell will be as biophysically realistic as possible.

This study was supported by the Russian Science Foundation, grant 21-74-00095.

References

1. Verisokin, A. Yu., Verveyko, D. V., Postnov, D. E. & Brazhe, A. R. Modeling of Astrocyte Networks: Toward Realistic Topology and Dynamics. Front. Cell. Neurosci. 15, 645068 (2021).



© 2004 Designed by Lyceum of Informational Technologies №1533

English
!

Архив публикаций

Тезисы

XXIX-ая конференция

Глиотрансмиттерная регуляция синаптической активности в модели астроцитарной кальциевой динамики

Лукин П.О., Прудкин М.Н., Верисокин А.Ю.

Курский государственный университет, Центр физики конденсированного состояния Россия, 305000, Курск, ул. Радищева, д. 33

1  стр. (принято к публикации)

Спонтанные и индуцированные синаптической активностью пространственно-временные паттерны кальциевой динамики в астроцитах могут сегрегировать пространство нервной ткани на области, в которых будут поддерживаться различные условия, увеличивающие либо уменьшающие эффективность работы синапсов за счёт локализованного выделения глиотрансмиттеров. Предполагается, что понимание путей регуляции возбуждения нервной ткани указанными механизмами может иметь ключевое значение для управления активностью ЦНС.

В основе исследования лежит модель кальциевой динамики в астроцитах [1], учитывающая пространственно-детализированную морфологию клеток астроцитов, топологию их сетей, кальциевую динамику в астроцитах, связь астроцитов с аксонами нейронов. На основе имеющихся экспериментальных данных мы расширили данную модель путём включения в неё уравнения, описывающего глиотрансмиттерную динамику, приняв во внимание, что она зависит от морфологических особенностей участка клетки (то есть различна в лифлетах, толстых или тонких отростках и соме) и текущего кальциевого профиля. Кроме того, было установлено, что концентрация глиотрансмиттера оказывает непосредственное влияние на вероятность выброса глутамата.

Численное исследование рассматриваемой модели на двумерном шаблоне астроцита показало, что:

– глиотрансмиттер, с одной стороны, оказывает важное влияние непосредственно на кальциевую активность в астроцитах, с другой стороны, способен осуществлять регуляцию синаптической активности;

– количество кальциевых событий в клетке астроцита зависит от локальных значений концентрации глиотрансмиттера;

– регуляция синаптической активности может быть осуществлена путём внешнего введения глиотрансмиттеров.

В рамках дальнейших исследований предполагается изучить влияние глиотрансмиттера на синаптическую активность в уточнённой модели, в которой расположение синапсов в клетке будет максимально биофизически реалистично.

Исследование выполнено за счёт гранта РНФ (проект №21-74-00095).

Литература

1. Verisokin, A. Yu., Verveyko, D. V., Postnov, D. E. & Brazhe, A. R. Modeling of Astrocyte Networks: Toward Realistic Topology and Dynamics. Front. Cell. Neurosci. 15, 645068 (2021).



© 2004 Дизайн Лицея Информационных технологий №1533